Skip to main content
Banner Image

Art 411: Twentieth Century Art

Updated 8/8/2017

About Artstor

The Artstor Digital Library is a collection of art works from all over the world.  Specifically, it is "an image database featuring an unparalleled range of images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. It is the most comprehensive image resource available for educational and scholarly use, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else. 

The library is constantly growing with new collections added monthly, continually expanding our areas of reference and study. All images are accompanied by comprehensive metadata and are rights-cleared for educational use."  Artstor's collections come from museums, artists, artists' estates, photo archives, and special and personal collections from around the world. Educators create and share curricula built using these images for a host of disciplines. These resources are available via the Curriculum and Subject Guides.

Students, faculty, staff, and walk in community members have access to this collection. 

"Users may search, view, reproduce, display, download, print, perform, and distribute Content for the following Permitted Uses provided (i) they abide by the restrictions in Section 4, Section 5, and elsewhere in these Terms and Conditions of Use and (ii) such uses are non-commercial, scholarly, and educational:

  1. research activities;
  2. classroom instruction and related classroom activities;
  3. student assignments;
  4. public display or public performance as part of a noncommercial scholarly or educational presentation, if such use conforms to the customary and usual practice in the field;
  5. in a student, faculty, or curatorial portfolio, including non-public display thereof, if such use conforms to the customary and usual practice in the field;
  6. linking to Content (as described further in Section 7);
  7. in dissertations, including reproductions of dissertations, provided such reproductions are only for personal use, library deposit, or use solely within the institution with which the Authorized User and/or his or her faculty or curatorial readers are affiliated; and
  8. on an ad hoc basis and without commercial gain or in a manner that would substitute for direct access to the Artstor Content, sharing a work that incorporates limited Artstor Content for purposes of collaboration, comment, or similar non-commercial educational or scholarly use." See full licensing terms here.

In order to fully utilize the images, you need to register and set up an account within Artstor.  This allows you to download images into Artstor's proprietary software, which allows you to import images which can be manipulated for enhanced demonstration in lectures and other presentations using Powerpoint.  Please contact Sandy Hudock if you have questions, would like more information, or to set up a workshop for your class.